Societies & Publications
The Biophysical Society of China
Acta Biophysica Sinica
Progress in Biochemistry and Biophysics
Chinese Academy of
Sciences Protein
Science core facility
    Home > Societies & Publications

The Biophysical Society of China

The Biophysical Society of China (BSC), as a constituent society of the  China Association for Science and Technology, is a nongovernmental organization for Chinese biophysicists with an aim to promote academic exchanges.

The Biophysical Society of China was founded in November 1979 and initiated by the renowned biologist Shizhang Bei. He is the first president of BSC. Prof. Zihe Rao is the Current president. At present, the BSC has over 2,500 members. It holds the Biophysical Conference of China every two years. Recently, the BSC has organized, sponsored or assisted with many international academic conferences. It plays an important role in promoting economic and social development, together with human health, in China. 


Council President  Vice-Presidents  Secretary-General
1980-1983  Shizhang Bei  Jinghua Xu, Jiji Cheng  Shumin Shen    
1983-1986  Dongcai Liang  Kechun Lin, Jinghua Xu, Jiji Cheng  Shumin Shen
1986-1990   Shurong Wang  Kechun Lin, Dacheng Wang, Jiji Cheng  Junxian Shen
1990-1994   Dongcai Liang  Nanming Zhao, Wenlong Liu  Runsheng Chen
1994-1998   Dongcai Liang  Nanming Zhao, Runsheng Chen, Zhihong Zhang  Xun Shen
1998-2002   Nanming Zhao  Xun Shen, Zhihong Zhang    Xun Shen
2002-2006   Nanming Zhao  Kangcheng Ruan, Xun Shen, Zhixin Wang  Junxian Shen
2006-  Zihe Rao  Tao Xu, Junxian Shen, Kangcheng Ruan, Zhuan Zhou  Xiyun Yan

The Biophysical Society of China publishes the journal Acta Biophysica Sinica (Chief Editor: Xun Shen), and sponsors Progress in Biochemistry and Biophysics (Chief Editor: Dacheng Wang) together with the Institute of Biophysics, Chinese Academy of Sciences.



The BSC is comprised of 9 professional committees, namely: Molecular Biophysics, Membrane and Cellular Biophysics, Neural Biophysics and Neural Informatics, Bioinformatics and Theoretical Biophysics, Free Radical Biology and Free Radical Medicine, Optical Biophysics, Radiation and Environmental Biophysics, Biological Mechanics and Biological Rheology, Modern Biophysical Technology and Method. It also includes three working

committees for the Regulation of Scientific and Technological Terms, Scientific Promotion and Education, and a Youth Committee.

The BSC is the one of the initiated organizations of the Asian Biophysics Association (ABA). In 1982, the BSC formally joined the International Union for Pure and Applied Biophysics (IUPAB). Kechun Lin (1984-1990), Dongcai Liang (1993-1999), Nanming Zhao (1999-2005) and Zihe Rao (2005- ) all served as Members of the IUPAB Council. At the 16th General Assembly of IUPAB held in France, the Biophysical Society of China won the right to host the 17th International Biophysics Congress, which will be held from 29 October to 2 November, 2011 in Beijing, China. 

Contact us

The Biophysical Society of China 

15 Datun Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China

Tel:   +86-10-64889864,     

Fax:  +86-10-64889862

E-mail:  wsy(AT)     and    wangyue(AT)


Print Text Size: A A A   Close


Institute of Biophysics, CAS    Address: 15 Datun Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing, 100101, China
Tel:8610-64889872    Fax: 8610-64871293    E-mail: